Sholin Guitar Competition

For Graduate and Undergraduate Students

Norman Douglas Sholin founded and designed the guitar degree program at the University of Arizona School of Music and Dance in 1974.

Mr. Sholin earned a BFA (1974) and an MFA (1978) in classical guitar from the California Institute of the Arts. He studied with teacher and musicologist Emilio Pujol in Cervera, Spain in 1972 and 1973 and played in a master class for Andres Segovia in 1973.

The University of Arizona has become a major international center for the study of classical guitar. The Norman Douglas Sholin Memorial Scholarship Award, which is presented annually, promotes excellence in this segment of the arts. Through their gifts, donors honor the students that qualify for it, as well as the memory of Mr. Sholin, whose love for the guitar and its music still brings inspiration. 


Sholin Competition Guidelines:

Semi-Final Round: 15 minutes of free-choice repertoire

Final Round: 20 minutes of free-choice repertoire*


*ONE piece may be repeated from the semi-final to round to the final


1982: Bobby Orlando

1983: David Mintz

1984: Alison Bert

1985: Lou Mowad

1986: Alison Bert

1987: Todd Seelye

1988: Todd Seelye

1989: Charles King

1990: Douglas James

1991: Mark Basinski

1992: Douglas James

1993: Douglas James

1994: Ivan Rijos

1995: Celso Cano

1996: Paul Grove

1997: Alieksey Vianna

1998: Alieksey Vianna

1999: Bruno Correia

2000: Andrew Hull

2001: Randall Avers

2002: Daniel Bolshoy

2003: Dieter Hennings

2004: Gonzalo Molano

2005: Gonzalo Molano

2006: Jane Curry

2007: Matthew Palmer

2008: Matthew Palmer & Lars Rosvoll

2009: Eduardo Minozzi Costa

2010: Eduardo Minozzi Costa & Renato Serrano Muñoz

2011: Renato Serrano Muñoz

2012: Renato Serrano Muñoz

2013: Misael Barraza Díaz & Renato Serrano Muñoz

2014: Augustus Woodrow

2015: Misael Barraza Díaz

2016: Misael Barraza Díaz

2017: Andrés Pantoja

2018: Misael Barraza Díaz

2019: Misael Barraza Díaz

2020: Misael Barraza Díaz

2021: Misael Barraza Díaz

2022: Ana Maria Iordache & Andres Pantoja

2023: Ana Maria Iordache & Giovanni Accadia